November 17, 2014 Miriam Chiazor

Welcome to Melilla

Melilla and Ceuta are the two autonomous cities that are located in the Moroccan coast. They are popularly referred to as plazas mayores. You could never imagine a modern build city that may extend far North Africa away from Barcelona. Melilla offers a great collection of fascinating features i.e. tapas bars and museums as well as preserved maiden medieval fortress. The history buffs and unique architecture exemplify the beauty of these coastal islands.

Melilla is one of the multicultural states with a mix of Christian and Muslims. However, the Muslims are more dominant as a result of Berber. Melilla is a paradise for any traveler willing to experience ancient historical and coastal waters that are scenic. The infrastructure in Melilla is excellent and the ferries are always standby; in summer they will be thronged with tourist coming to this islands.

Melilla is a 12 square kilometer stretch curved from the Moroccan coastline. Melilla la Vieja is the old town, which juts out towards the sea. This multilevel fortress holds numerous attractions including the museums and tiny residential areas. The spectacular beaches are found to the south as well as the port. The ferry terminus is directly to the east.

The restaurants and most of the urban center commercial buildings are found to the north. The heart of Melilla is solely on the long triangular Parquet Hernandez. It is a great place that stands as an exclusive tourist destination with a range of tourist features and ancient buildings.





Quick facts

  • Official name
    Autonomous city of Melilla
  • Location
    Melilla is a Spanish exclave located on the north coast of Africa. It shares borders with Morocco but is a Spanish administered city
  • Government
    Autonomous City
  • Dialing code
  • Climate weather
  • Population
    83,679 on 12.3 km².
  • Official language
  • Other major languages
    Berber, French
  • Currency
    EUR (€)
  • Entry requirements
    EU citizens do not require a visa, as well as citizens of Australia, New Zealand and United States. All other countries would require a Schenghen visa. (For more information, Visit -