Yay! The 2015 CAF Africa Cup of Nations is here!

Witness the best of African football from January 17 to February 8, 2015 as Equatorial Guinea hosts the 30th edition of Africa’s biggest football competition; the Orange Africa Cup of Nations.

15 qualifying nations plus the hosts will compete among themselves to determine who becomes the Champion of Africa, and earns bragging rights over the others in a 4-week tournament.

Get ready to see an explosive African football fiesta starring some of the game’s best players like; the current CAF African Player of the Year, Côte d’Ivoire’s Yaya Toure (Manchester City) and Senegal’s Papiss Cissé (Newcastle) who dazzle in the English Premiership.



Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Cameroun’s Eric Choupo-Moting lights up the German Bundesliga, starring for Borussia Dortmund and FC Schalke 04 respectively. While BBC African Player of the Year (2014), Yacini Brahimi of Algeria stars for FC Porto in Portugal among others.




The 16 teams are drawn in one of four groups (A, B, C or D) and the matches of the group stage will be played in the following 4 cities: Malabo (capital), Bata, Mongomo, and Ebebiyín.


Bata will host Group A, made up of: Burkina Faso, Gabon, Congo, and hosts Equatorial Guinea. Bata is the largest city in the country and is famous for its nightlife and market. It is a port city which lies on the coast of Rio Muni on the Atlantic Ocean. Matches will be played at the 35,000 capacity Estadio de Bata, which will host the opening ceremony, and opening match between the hosts and Congo.


bata1 copy


Ebebiyín will host Cape Verde, DR Congo, Tunisia, and Zambia which make up Group B. Ebebiyín is a tiny city on Equatorial Guinea’s three-party border with Cameroun and Gabon. It is located northeast of Rio Muni, and serves as terminus for major transport routes from Bata, Yaoundé and cities of central Gabon. Matches will be played at the 5,000 capacity Nuevo Estadio de Ebebiyín.



Algeria, Ghana, Senegal, and South Africa are in Group C, and will be hosted in Mongomo. The country’s first President hailed from Mongomo, and so does his successor and incumbent. The city is in Wele-Nzas Province in the country’s mainland. The 10,000 capacity Estadio de Mongono will host the group matches.





Malabo_Sipopo congress centre


The capital city, Malabo is the host of Group D comprising: Cameroun, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea, and Mali. Malabo is located on the rim of a sunken volcano on the northern coast of Bioko Island. It is the second largest city in the country, and it has a couple of nice attractions, places to eat out and hang out at night. Matches will be played at the 15,250 capacity Nuevo Estadio de Malabo.







Have you made preparations to see the electrifying dribble runs, ferocious shots, point-blank saves, and sensational goals that will light up the best of African football?

Watch out for the colorful and flamboyant hairdos, and exotic football boots on the pitch. Hey! You don’t want to miss on the fun and extravagant carnival atmosphere whipped up by the fans as a new champions of Africa emerges.

Which country will it be? Who will be the highest goal scorer? Who will be the best player of this year’s tournament?

Stay tuned to this page for fresh updates on the tournament.

Miriam Chiazor

Miriam Chiazor

Content Editor
Miriam is the cornerstone of content planning, fiercely dedicated to resolving the critical issues of the day. She loves a good challenge, thrives on deadlines, pressure and learning new things.
Miriam Chiazor
Miriam Chiazor
Miriam Chiazor

Latest posts by Miriam Chiazor (see all)